MS 170 - $179.95 DSRP


Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $179.95

Quantity:

Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A lightweight chainsaw designed for woodcutting tasks around the home.

Looking for a compact, occasional use chainsaw? Homeowners, look no further. Complete with the same design features the professionals depend on, the MS 170 is lightweight with just the right amount of power— perfect for residential cutting and trimming of small trees, firewood or storm clean up.
Print Spec Sheets
MS 170 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 30.1 cc (1.8 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.3 kW (1.7 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 3.9 kg (8.6 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 145 cc (4.9 oz.)
OILOMATIC® CHAIN 3/8" PMM3
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL ROLLOMATIC® Mini
POWER SOURCE Gas
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic® Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 170 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 724.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome little saw Bought it to cut down a couple hundred pine trees averaging 9" in diameter. Was using my big ms391, way to heavy. This saw is awsome. It'll cut my time in half at least
Date published: 2017-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Durable Lightweight Saw Overall this saw is extremely useful, both for professionals and homeowners. Working in the tree care industry since I was 13, I have plenty of experience with saws. We purchased the stihl ms 170 in early 2015 just to see how such an affordable saw would preform. After nearly three years of almost daily use and abuse, being dropped in a stream while running, dropped 20’ out of a tree onto concrete, and probably a few more things I don’t know about, it stihl runs like new. (I did have to replace the top handle after dropping it out of a tree) Sometimes it won’t want to start, so just give it a few pulls with the throttle wide open until it starts.If you’re considering buying this saw, I would say go for it. However, If you’re absolutely new to chainsaws, take a training class or ask a friend to show you how to safely start and operate one first.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good little saw I have been in the tree business for a couple years and stihl is the only saws I would buy I got this 170 for an extra little saw around the house and it dose exactly what I would except out of this size saw but definitely out preforms competitors in same size great for around the house clean up and small tree removal starts with 4 pulls every time cold if you know the stihl starting procedure (not hard read your manual) and starts one pull if warm overall good little saw break in took 3 tanks of fuel then noticed a little more power I use this saw a good bit and has never let me down for what I use it for
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from VERY COMPLICATED AND HARD TO START First day review: WOULD NOT START. I made 50 or so pulls , all I got was noise most of the time, other times NO noise at all, and no start either. Finally it just started. No rhyme or reason, but after I shut it down, it was back to not starting. There seems to be a lot of things to do to get this saw to "be a saw". I've been reading other peoples reviews, and can't really comprehend why someone would say "it's EASY to start". At this time, I will not in good conciseness, recommend this product. AND STIHL- You don't need to reply to this because I've already heard all you have to say on other customers reports. AND this is ALL you ever will say: "Response from STIHLCustomer Care , Customer CareVery sorry to hear about your experience with a STIHL MS170. Please contact the STIHL Customer Care Center at 1-800-467-8445 (option 2) to see how they may assist with any concerns or questions you may have." - Why would I need to contact "STIHL Customer Care Center at 1-800-467-8445 (option 2)" when the reply came from " STIHLCustomer Care , Customer Care" ??? Anyway, it's going back to the dealer today. That's all for now.
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice starter saw Bought this for my son to learn how to use a saw. He is 10 and can handle it. Very light. A+
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Little Saw Ever** I own the MS250, Kinda hard to start, I also own a Husky Saw. But this Little MS170 is the BEST out of all of them! Starts EZ, Light, Powerful for a little Saw!
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Running 4 cords strong Cut between 4-5 cord this year with the saw and pleasantly surprised with its ability to keep up. As long as you keep the chain sharp it does a good job and it's light weight keeps you from getting tired. Took at least 3 tanks to break in and notice better performance. Consistently takes about 5 pulls when cold to fire, then switch it to half choke and good to go. I had one issue consistently when it was hot out where it would not start again after refueling and quick chain sharpening (6-8 mins) or it would snuff itself out above half throttle. I learned if I took off the cover and kept it cool it would run fine every time, now that it's fall I don't have the heat soak issue. I just ran into an issue where it wouldn't turn off when I flipped the switch up, read online that a wire might have come loose and to check those, I wiggled everything I could and the issue went away. Overall very happy with the saw and love the light weight portability.
Date published: 2017-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL LOVE This saw is awesome! Starts with 1 to 3 pulls every time. Light weight and goes through everything I put in front of it.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, easy use Easy to use and start. Great for small jobs. Lightweight.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great light weight saw. I bought this saw because I'm getting older and I wanted a lighter weight saw than my 310. This saw is much lighter yet still has plenty of power for cutting small to medium diameter fire wood. I did have just a little trouble starting it during my first day using it but it is fine now. I definitely recommend it to others with similar needs as mine.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little saw Bought this saw for doing lighter cutting. It's amazed me with how well it works. It starts easy, and is easy to handle. The weight is great when working around brush. The power is better than I expected. The only thing I wish this saw had was metal bumper spikes. That being said the plastic ones on it have good grip.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stihl MS170 Chaninsaw This MS170 saw was a huge disappointment coming from a trusted name like Stihl. I had a MS170 before and it was the best saw I had ever owned but this new one was an unreliable joke. Every time I needed it most for 4 of the 10 months I owned the saw it would die and not restart leaving me stranded without a saw. This saw was very frustrating and caused problems between me and my dealer. This is a decent local dealer that that had always treated my family right where we had done a lot of business and purchased several Stihl saws. The dealer voluntarily gave my money back which was above and beyond what he they had to do but now our relationship is strained so I have to settle for a lesser dealer or buy a different brand saw. I would far prefer that Stihl had made the saw right and I could have bought it and used it with service from the dealer I liked.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good saw Bought this for cleaning up my back yard, ended up helping cut fallen trees at neighbors, and friends houses, after hurricane Mathew 3 giant oaks, and several pine trees later no problems just a dull chain, and a tired me. And still cleaned up some small trees, saplings, and bamboo, yes bamboo in my back yard. Perfect size weight, and power for home owners there should be one in every house hold.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from STIHL MS170 ..... Awesome ! Purchased my new Stihl MS170 from our local dealer in Klamath Falls, OR. (Stukel Saw Shop), and man what a great buying experience all around. Nice guys at the shop, and my MS170 works like a dream. Just a great sized saw for around the property, and best of all it's pretty light. Thanks again Stihl :)
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw To really appreciate this fine tool, you need to have a history with less expensiveexpense saws. This Mod 180 is far, far superior to the other brands I have owned or used. From the time you buy and use it for the first time, you realize the Quality of parts and engineering that went into making such a fine product. And by the way, the price difference between this saw and the lower priced competitiion was very little. Have you noticed when you see the news about fires in the FarWest or news of a large apartment fire...the saws being used by the professionals....STIHL !Jim Hinson
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and manageable for just about anyone. Ive owned comparable size saws but the convince and reliability is hands down the best on the market! When it comes down to price you get what you pay for. After the last hurricane we had the city government had enough of the competitors saws and purchase over 65 stihl saws that says something! When a few dollars extra is on your mind just remember it will be a saw you invest in not buy to get you by.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great entry level saw I needed a lightweight economical saw for a tree removal project. The MS 170 was perfect for this. I have only had this a month but have run it thru its paces and it has preformed well. Keep in mind that this is not a power house but a lightweight entry level saw. This is the saw I would recommend for a beginner. It is easy to start and handles almost to well. I have also had a MS 390 and a FS 90 for several years and they have always been reliable so the MS 170 was an easy choice for me.
Date published: 2017-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from well worth the money I bought this saw to do light trimming around the house, I haven't used it a whole lot but it ran great and did everything as expected. I own other Stihl products that are great and this saw is no exception. Very happy with it so far.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Purchased brand new would not run Purchased brand new MS170 would not start, I took it back to the dealership they could not get it running. They wanted to hold the chainsaw so they could service it, I just wanted to exchange it but the dealership stated Stihl would not honor it due to having gas in it. This all took place within 2 hours I ended up getting my money back. This would have been my 3rd Stihl and still would consider BUT.....
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent equipment It's a Stihl, what more does a person have to say.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic chainsaw for females This light weight (under 9 pound) chainsaw is perfect for a woman. It is as easy to use as a hair dryer !! Starts every time with a single trigger press, no mess with gasoline, no yanking on start-cords, no power cord to trip over, no need to remember to pump the oil onto the bar. Works for over two hours cutting trash fir trees before the battery needs recharging. What a dream. This is my favorite tool.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best.....chainsaw.....EVER! I bought this chainsaw about a year ago, and could not be happier with it. It always fires up without fail, and cuts like butter. I like how light it is, and how well it cuts through our solid oak trees with ease. I'm so please to finally have a chainsaw worth it's weight in gold.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MS 170 is an excellent tool I have had this saw for a year with no issues. I needed a lightweight smaller saw for trimming limbs, shrubs, etc and this saw fills the space perfectly. It is light and easy to handle, compact size, and easy starting. It has plenty of power to cut larger limbs and trees, but it really shines as a carry around saw for smaller jobs. I even carry it on my tractor when I'm mowing to trim overhanging limbs that interfere with the job. The quality is great and the price was reasonable. This was a good value purchase.
Date published: 2017-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dont settle for anything else. We just purchased our first home and the property had many Fallen large sugar maple limbs. Being a volunteer firefighter we only use Stihl chainsaws in our department so I knew the reliability and durability were great. I got this nice little saw and a thing works perfect. Started right up,easy to Handel, and maneuver. I definitely recommend this saw for the common homeowner
Date published: 2017-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from just right very pleased with ms170 . I needed a light weight saw to demo an 18" 50' pine in place. starts every time even when out on a limb .made several one handed overhead cuts up in the tree no problem .any thing bigger would have been awkward . I think its so awesome I put my own PRO sticker on it
Date published: 2017-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw Great price I just cut five cords of oak, maple, and paper birch. Most log diameters were above 12" and I was amazed of the ability of this saw. If you are looking for a cheap saw don't waste your money on an off brand. Buy this saw. One of my red oak logs was 16" and this saw was like "buck buck buck". It punches way above it's weight class.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuts lumber all day every day I have one I use for cutting lumber at a small time sawmill outfit.Could not ask for a better little saw. Cutting clean green wood the .043 chain holds an edge forever.I only regret that I don't own 3 of them.
Date published: 2017-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Saw I Ever Owned I've owned several Lowe's and Home Depot saws, but Stihl is awesome. Fires up quick and always starts.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great homeowner saw Excellent chainsaw never let me down cut thru anything even big logs if you take your time. Recommendation for this product keep the chain sharp, drain the gas out Everytime you use it and also blow the saw dust from inside the chain cover and she will run like new.
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little Saw for Limbs and Small tree's. I've had this saw for 4 yrs. now and am very happy with it. I am not much of a manual reader, but you should def. read the owners manual before starting this saw. There are specific steps to take when you start it cold. I think I pulled the pull string about 400 times when I first got it and was cursing the saw for not starting. Then I realized I didn't have the choke on the proper setting!! Then I started cursing myself!! LOL. Great little saw plenty of power. Engine has run flawless since I've had it. I think my only complaint would be where you have to tighten the bar, it's opposite of the shroud and it's a little tough when trying to get the chain on the bar. Not a game changer though just takes a little patience.
Date published: 2017-08-11
  • y_2018, m_1, d_16, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_724
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms170, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl