MS 170 - $179.95 DSRP

STIHL MS 170 ChainsawSTIHL MS 170 ChainsawSTIHL MS 170 Chainsaw
Distributor Suggested Retail Price
16 in. Bar

DSRP: $179.95


Reserve with STIHL Express for In-Store Pick Up

A lightweight chainsaw designed for woodcutting tasks around the home.

Looking for a compact, occasional use chainsaw? Homeowners, look no further. Complete with the same design features the professionals depend on, the MS 170 is lightweight with just the right amount of power— perfect for residential cutting and trimming of small trees, firewood or storm clean up.
Print Spec Sheets
MS 170 Specifications
DISPLACEMENT 30.1 cc (1.8 cu. in.)
ENGINE POWER 1.3 kW (1.7 bhp)
POWERHEAD WEIGHT 3.9 kg (8.6 lbs.)
FUEL CAPACITY 250 cc (8.5 oz.)
CHAIN OIL CAPACITY 145 cc (4.9 oz.)
GUIDE BAR LENGTHS (Recommended ranges) 30 to 40 cm (12" to 16")
STIHL recommends #3610 (61 PMM3 55) OILOMATIC® saw chain and 16" 3005 008 3913 Ematic™ guide bar combination. The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Model Features
  • Zoom
    Built in the USA
    Indicates products that are built in the United States from domestic and foreign parts and components.

    More Information

  • Zoom
    Anti-Vibration System
    STIHL has developed a system for minimizing the vibration levels of handheld outdoor power equipment. The STIHL anti-vibration system helps reduce operator fatigue and provides a more comfortable working experience.
  • Zoom
    IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor
    The IntelliCarb™ Compensating Carburetor is designed to automatically adjust the air/fuel ratio when the air filter becomes restricted or partially clogged and maintains the engine’s correct RPM. IntelliCarb™ uses air from the clean side of the air filter to control the diaphragm and flow of fuel. As the air filter becomes dirty and less air is available for the carburetor, the IntelliCarb™ system adjusts the fuel flow to compensate for the decrease in air flow. This is in contrast to typical carburetors that utilize this air from the “dirty” side of the air box.
  • Zoom
    Ematic™ Lubrication System
    The Ematic™ guide bar, when used with STIHL OILOMATIC® saw chain, will provide proper lubrication and less oil consumption than conventional methods. The system works because two ramps, strategically placed in the guide bar rail, help contain the flow of oil and direct all lubrication to the sliding faces of the bar and chain links as well as the rivets and driver holes, which in turn can reduce bar oil consumption up to 50%.
Standard Features
  • Zoom
    Common Features for Chainsaws
    View the features common to many STIHL chainsaws.

Important Information
* The actual listed guide bar length can vary from the effective cutting length based on which powerhead it is installed on.
Note: STIHL recommends use of fuel with no more than 10% Ethanol content. Using fuel with greater than 10% Ethanol content may cause damage to your equipment and may void your STIHL warranty. Learn More…
WARNING! Improper use of any power tool may cause serious or fatal injury. Read, understand and follow carefully the operating and safety instructions in your instruction manual before using such products.

STIHL products sold through U.S. STIHL Dealers are for distribution in the United States only.
Click to view the STIHL Limited Warranty Time Periods
Optional Accessories
  • Zoom
    Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B)
    The Quick Chain Adjuster (QCA) (B) allows the user to adjust the tension of the chain without the use of tools. This allows for easy chain adjustment.

    See it in action!
For Your Safety
  • Woodcutter Helmet System Zoom
    Woodcutter Helmet System
    The lightweight STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is an excellent choice for budget-conscious non-professional users with chainsaws and pole pruners. Designed for comfort, the vented shell provides cooling air during use, and the 6-point mount suspension provides comfortable support. The STIHL Woodcutter Helmet System is Class G certified and includes NRR 22 hearing protection.
  • STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves Zoom
    STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Protective Gloves
    Durable and hardworking, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves deliver professional-grade hand protection. The palm and inner fingers are made of full grain tanned leather, so you can work with comfort without sacrificing a firm hold. Featuring multiple layers of cut-retardant materials – Avertic Pro and Dyneema fabrics by Engtex® – these gloves will help deliver protection without compromising the dexterity you need while operating a chainsaw. Accented with an orange rip-stop nylon backing, these dynamic gloves offer style and protection. Water repellant, breathable and featuring a Velcro wrist closure, STIHL Pro Mark™ Dynamic Gloves are as ready for the woods as you.

Are You Ready for a STIHL?

MS 170 is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 776.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for yard work Used to cut up branches and trim trees in yard. Works great.
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best saw Cranks great,runs great ,and great sales people. Thanks for being there for me.
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs good Used saw for 15 minutes and had to stop. Wasn't oiling. Had to return to BB. They fixed the problem. Haven't used since then. Will give another review later down the road. One good thing is that BB in geneseo I'll takes care of there customers.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and quick for light work Not a bad saw for price not made for logs bigger then 7” it works the saw but gets it done good for just about any project if you take your time. LET THE SAW DO THE WORK you’ll have no problem
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great saw for the money. This MS 170 has been the best chainsaw I've had in the last 2 years. I use the Stihl motomix every winter when I store it and I never have any problems starting it next spring. Great price lightweight works great for all my yard work and pruning needs. I also use Stihl motomix and all of my other outdoor power equipment and lawn equipment for a winterizer Fuel never have had a problem with starting them that next year or even if it sits for over a year it starts every time.
Date published: 2018-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw! Great saw, i bought this saw a few days ago and tested it over the weekend. Its a great saw worked all day long and got 2 truck loads of fire wood. Just bought this saw as a backup saw for my MS441. This saw cuts like butter as long as the chain is sharp. Gotta say again great saw.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This saw is great Was tough to start when brand new but now is easy to start ,lightweight,powerful, best saw I ever had.
Date published: 2018-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw. I needed a good priced ground saw and even though this is not listed as a professional use saw that is what it gets used as with no problems.
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little light weight saw. Love my new Stihl. Easy to start and quality like no other.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good tool for the money Needed a small for some light work around the home. Finally settled on this saw. It has worked out very well. Lightweight but strong enough to do the job. I have other Stihl products and they are good quality tools.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saw Great Price! I own (4) other Stihl products. Went to Bowens Farm store for a saw for trimming around the house. I had done some research and thought the 170 would be a good fit. They asked me a little about what I would use the saw for and confirmed the 170 would be the right saw. I have only used it a few times but it is a beast. Easy to start, powerful and light weight.
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This saw will take a beating. I have 5 of these saws and 4 running 9 hours a day. I burn through 2 gallons of bar oil and almost 5 gal of gas a day. They are being used in my orchard to cut it down to graft. Incredible little chain saw! Light weight, good engine, the bar and air filter are really cheap but everything else is good. These ms170s will be running 9 hours a day 6 days a week for 2 months. After our job Is done I will come back and review at the end of the job. If you need a small saw you can't beat the 170 for the money!
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw I have owned multiple saws throughout my life and this one in hands down my favorite. It starts right away and cuts through small/medium sized trees with ease. My favorite part is the weight and is my go to saw if I plan on sawing all day. Great for managing deer hunting woods and clearing ATV trails
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from MS 170 Chainsaw I've only had this saw for a short period of time, but so far it has been very good. Ace Hardware did a nice job in going over the features of the saw and even started it up. It took a bit to get it started, but when I got the saw home and went to use it, it started very easy. So far so good, it's lite and easy to handle, and has work well to this point.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Saw There is a lot of bang for the buck on this saw. Easy to use great for home use and maybe more...highly recommend
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Save your money buy another product Just bought this saw yesterday. Cranked once. Turned off to pick up wood. 15 minutes. Won’t restart. The reviews are correct! Stihl is not what it once was. I have had five other Stihl saws, yes all bigger than this one but I am getting older and needed something easier to handle. This saw is a pice of poor workmanship.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use and disassemble and clean Great for small jobs, lightweight and easy to remove chain for cleaning.
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to start This dag thing is VERY hard to start. When I first go it, it started up on first pull. Now it take 2 people to get it running.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saw at a better price. This is the lowest entry level home owners saw Stihl sells but don't let the price fool you! You have to realize that most of their saws are designed for commercial use non stop hence their huge price difference but that doesn't mean the MS 170 isn't great!. I had 3 40' trees felled by a pro arborist and cut a deal cause I was going to do the rest. 2 were of fir types and the other was alder. This saw powered through the hard wood with ease and sliced the firs like butter!. You can save maybe $20 at the most at a big box store for their 16" but you'd be buying a VW instead of Ferrari. I did that first and when it failed out of the box, got my money back and I bought my Stihl. I've owned just about every known big box brand and this is my first Stihl and wont buy anything else and probably wont have to. No issues from start to finish all 3 huge trees are chopped up with no problems at all. The only tip I can give if your dealer doesn't offer it is ask them how to start this saw. It is different and there is a method or your not going to get it to start and will flood it. There's no primer bulb for starters so right there its not like anything you've had before but when started by manufacture specs, 3-5 pulls in 35 degree weather from choke to idle, then when warm, one pull every time, that simple.... When you follow directions lol.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the home owner Start off by saying I own this saw and a 391. I'm no pro but I do put several hours a year saws. I bought the 170 because the 391 is heavy after a few hours of use. I wanted a lighter saw without the cost of a pro top handle saw. The 170 is a bit cold blooded but once it's up to temperature it's the perfect saw for light trimming and limbing of trees. I use it more than my 391 for stuff around the house. Spend the extra $ on a small stihl rather than a big box stores brand and run the still pre mx for longevity. You'll be glad you did.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ms 170 chainsaw Bought a year ago for my wife to use it has had zero issues and easy for her to start got it at mt Jackson southern states great customer service there 2nd stilh I got there no issues with that one either it was a 290 farm boss will only buy stilh
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for limbing or small home projects This little saw is ready to work around the house for small jobs or works great for limbing larger trees.I mainly use this saw for limbing larger trees and taking down small trees. Saw is very light and easy to carry around trees when limbing without tiring you out.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent saw for the money. Starts easy, wish it did not have the autochoke. But then again its a new saw so it better start easy.Fairly light weight which is great, the build quality is what i would consider avwrage in todays market, feels a bit cheap in the hand.Feels a bit under powered with the 16" bar. If you swap it out for a 14" bar may give it a little more pep.Took 4 times adjusting the chain which was a pain before getting it settled in but that was likley due to chain stretch.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from had to take it back to the store 2 times in the first week i had it got the saw on monday. i used it a couple of hours clearing around fence line. the next day i cranked it and it died with in a few minutes and would not crank back up. i took it to the store and made them give me another one. it done the same thing so i took it back to the store and the tech said it fouled the spark plug. put a new plung in it and it started. i have only used it about 20 minutes since so we will just have to see if it stays running this time.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pull Cord Knot untied itself The pull cord knot came untied inside the housing, so I had the pull cord in one hand and the chainsaw in another. I had just bought the unit for ease of starting and the light weight. To finish my work I had to drive back to the barn and use the old 025.Took to Stihl dealer and resolved problem under warranty.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent saw For the price, you can't beat this little tiger. Works just like it should. Had a little trouble with the pull cord for the first few times, but now it's a champ. Unstoppable.
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good. Light, starts EZ and cuts nicely around house. After several back surgeries I had to let my Farm Boss take a break for a few years and finally sold it to a friend. I moved from a home with some acreage into a small subdivision with lots of trees. The MS 170 has been doing the job with fallen tree tops, limbs smaller trees. I highly recommend it for lighter duty.
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Affordable price,lightweight,and easy to use I would recommend STIHL products to anyone! I have cut several bigger trees with my 16” saw. Plenty of power to handle anything I put to it!
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect homeowner saw this saw is just right for trees around the house and for clearing out around the deer stand too, very dependable and powerful little saw ,very satisfied with purchase
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I bought this saw for the smaller projects around the house, and it sure fits the bill. I absolutely love this saw.Sal
Date published: 2018-02-05
  • y_2018, m_3, d_21, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_776
  • loc_en_US, sid_ms170, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_stihl